Two Co-Chairs of the Working Group are elected by country Partners for staggered two-year terms.
The current Co-Chairs are:

Rita Cerutti
Director, Multilateral Affairs, Environment Canada

Ms. Rita Cerutti, is a veteran in international environmental affairs, with over 24 years of experience covering a realm of environment issues related to chemicals, climate change, clean air, ozone depletion, short lived climate pollutants, sustainable development, and the Arctic. She holds both a Master of Arts in Economics and a Master of Environmental Studies, where she focused on economy-environment integration, environmental policy, and sustainable development.

In addition to various positions with the Government of Canada, Rita has also previously worked in the Government of the Northwest Territories, non-government organizations, and has also taught economics. She has led Canada’s engagement in regional environmental cooperation mechanisms and many of Canada’s bilateral partnerships, as well as Canada’s involvement in key international environment fora and initiatives.

Rita is currently a senior official with the International Affairs Branch of Canada’s department of Environment and Climate Change.

Alice Akinyi Kaudia
Environment Secretary

Dr. Alice Akinyi Kaudia is the first Environment Secretary for the government of Kenya; a position she has held since 2008.

In her more than two-decade career, she has also served as a Technical Advisor on forestry curriculum development and community-based natural resources management in Zambia, and held various positions at the Kenya Forestry Research Institute.

As an advocate for climate action and poverty eradication in developing countries, Alice has various high-level international engagements in areas relevant to sustainable management of natural resources, climate change, and community development. She is a member of the World Resources Forum Advisory Board; Co-Chair of the Global Green Growth Knowledge Platform; National Chair of the Global Green Growth Forum Kenya; and a member of UN Environment’s International Resources Panel Steering Committee. 

Back to Top