About the awards

Fast action to reduce short-lived climate pollutants, such as black carbon, methane, hydrofluorocarbons and tropospheric ozone, is key to improving air quality and slowing the rate of climate change. Actions to mitigate these pollutants also provide additional benefits for health, ecosystems and the sustainable development goals.

The Climate and Clean Air Awards are given annually to recognize exceptional contributions and actions taken by individuals or groups to reduce short-lived climate pollutants. This can include transformative or innovative actions to reduce black carbon and methane emissions from household energy, transportation, municipal solid waste, the brick sector and other combustion industries, agriculture and the oil and gas industry; or to replace hydrofluorocarbons used in cooling and refrigeration.

2018 Finalists

This year's 16 finalists were selected from over 80 nominees in recognition of the exceptional contributions and actions they’ve taken to implement projects, programmes, policies and practices that reduce short-lived climate pollutants (SLCPs).


Selection and winner announcement

Award winners will be announced at a high level ceremony during the Global Climate Action Summit in San Francisco, California (USA). The event will take place from 16:30 to 18:30, on September 11, 2018 and be followed by a cocktail reception. The event will give winners the opportunity to showcase their work to attendees and media. 

Members of the public are welcome to attend the event and can register here.

This year's winners will be selected by panel of ditinguished jury members. They are:

  • Ms. Bahijjahtu Abubakar, Head of Climate Mitigation (Clean Energy), Nigeria Ministry of Environment
  • Ms. Rita Cerutti, Director General of Policy and Planning, Candian Northern Economic Development Agency
  • Mr. Emmanuel de Guzman, Secretary and Vice Chairperson, Philippine Climate Change Commission
  • Mr. Manuel Pulgar-Vidal, former Minister of State for Environment, Peru, and President of COP 20. He is the current head of WWF's global climate work.
  • Dr. Youba Sokona, Vice-Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

The event will be live streamed starting at 16:30 on YouTube and just below.

Past winners

The 2017 Climate and Clean Air Award winners were announced on November 12th at a ceremony at the United Nations Climate Change Conference in Bonn, Germany (COP23). The winners were selected from over 30 submissions from 17 countries, spanning four categories – Individual achievement, Outstanding policy, Innovative technology, and Transformative action.  

Meet the 2017 winners

Back to Top